The Most Beautiful And Inspiring Ayat!

-
-

-


Imam al-Qurtubi narrates the following incident in his tafsir:

It is related that the Sahabah, may Allah be pleased with them all, were once reminding each other of the Qur’an.

Abu Bakr as-Siddiq, radiyallahu ‘anhu, said, “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


قُلْ كُلٌّ يَعْمَلُ عَلَىٰ شَاكِلَتِهِ

Say, ‘Each acts according to his disposition.’

(al-Isra’: 84)

For indeed, the slave is disposed towards nothing but disobedience [‘isyaan]; and the Lord is disposed towards nothing but forgiveness [ghufraan].

-

‘Umar, radiyallahu ‘anhu, said, “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


بِسْمِ اللَّه الرَّحْمَن الرَّحِيم . حم . تَنْزِيل الْكِتَاب مِنْ اللَّه الْعَزِيز الْعَلِيم . غَافِر الذَّنْب وَقَابِل التَّوْب شَدِيد الْعِقَاب ذِي الطَّوْل

“In the Name of Allah, the Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful. Haa Meem. The revelation of the Book is from Allah, the Almighty, the All-Knowing. The Forgiver of sins, the Acceptor of repentance, the Severe in retribution, the Possessor of abundance.”

(al-Mu’min: 1 – 3)

He mentioned the forgiving of sins before the acceptance of repentance; in this there is a sign [ishaarah] for the believers.

-

‘Uthman bin ‘Affan, radiyallahu ‘anhu, said, “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


نَبِّئْ عِبَادِي أَنِّي أَنَا الْغَفُور الرَّحِيم

“Inform my slaves that I, I am the Most Forgiving, the Most Merciful.”

(al-Hijr: 49)

-

‘Ali ibn Abu Talib, radiyallahu ‘anhu, said, “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


قُلْ يَا عِبَادِيَ الَّذِينَ أَسْرَفُوا عَلَى أَنْفُسهمْ لَا تَقْنَطُوا مِنْ رَحْمَة اللَّه إِنَّ اللَّه يَغْفِر الذُّنُوب جَمِيعًا إِنَّهُ هُوَ الْغَفُور الرَّحِيم

“Say, ‘O My slaves who have transgressed against themselves, do not despair of the Mercy of Allah; indeed, Allah forgives all sins. Indeed, He is the Most Forgiving, the Most Merciful.’”
(al-Zumar: 53)

-

I (al-Qurtubi) say: “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا وَلَمْ يَلْبِسُوا إِيمَانهمْ بِظُلْمٍ أُولَئِكَ لَهُمْ الْأَمْن وَهُمْ مُهْتَدُونَ

“Those who believe and do not mix their faith with wrongdoing, they are the ones who are safe and it is they are guided.”

(al-An’am: 82)

(al-Jami’ li Ahkam al-Qur’an)

~~~~~~~~~~~~

-

I say: “I recited the Qur’an from its beginning to its end and I did not see any ayah more beautiful and full of hope than His Saying, exalted be He:


وَقَالَ رَبُّكُمُ ادْعُونِي أَسْتَجِبْ لَكُمْ

“Your Lord says, ‘Call on me; I will respond to you.’”

(al-Mu’min: 60)

This entry was posted in Quran and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Most Beautiful And Inspiring Ayat!

  1. persona says:

    Same here!

    I just downloaded your Mutashabihat.
    Do you have links to the following books online as well?

    1. Durratul-Tanzeel wa Ghurratut-Ta’weel fee Bayaan il Aayaat al-Mutashaabihaat fee Kitaab il-Laahi il-Azeez by al-Khateeb al-Iskaafee

    2. Asraar ut-Tukraar fil-Quran by Mahmood bin Hamzah ibn Nasr al-Kirmaanee.

    Jazakumullahu khayran for your work. May Allah reward with the best in both worlds! Ameen

  2. the middle road says:

    Assalamu alaikum

    No, unfortunately I don’t have those links.

    Ameen at the dua, and may Allah ta’ala grant you the same.

  3. Ayaah says:

    The first two stand out for me when I recite the Qur’aan, while the third stands out (most) in meaning.

    -Surah Yaseen, verse 58-

    “(It will be said to them): Salamun (peace be on you), a Word from the Lord (Allah), Most Merciful.”

    -Surah Rahman, verse 13-

    “Then which of the Blessings of your Lord will you both (jinns and men) deny?”

    -Surah al-Mu’min, (part of) verse 60-

    “Your Lord says, ‘Call on me; I will respond to you.’”

  4. markb4 says:

    Subhanallah!

    My choice of the most inspiring ayah is the one from Surah Az-Zumar that Ali (r) chose as well!

  5. Mahammud says:

    Masha-Allah

  6. Imran Sayed says:

    Masha Allah very inspirational. my favorite ayah is Al Baqarah:186 “And when My servants ask you about Me, I am near. I respond to those who call Me, so let them respond to Me, and believe in Me, so that they may be guided.” I also love ayat ul birr which also happens to be in Al baqarah.

    jazakAllahu khayr for this post and may Allah continue to infuse baraka and khayr in all of your efforts.

  7. the middle road says:

    Ameen, wa iyyakum.

  8. Anonymous says:

    beautiful ayah’z MASHALLAH

  9. Ibtihal Abdurahman says:

    My favorite ayahs of the Quran are in surat an-najm;
    53: 42 And that to your Lord is the finality
    53: 43 And that it is He who makes [one] laugh and weep
    53: 44 And that it is He who causes death and gives life
    And at the end of Surat An-Najm;
    53: 59 Then at this statement do you wonder?
    53:60 And you laugh and do not weep
    53:61 While you are proudly sporting?
    53: 62 So prostrate to Allah and worship [Him].

  10. Fia says:

    JazakAllah khair!

Leave a Reply

