Conversation Between Zulaikhah and Yusuf (as)


yusuf
It comes in a narration that the following conversation took place when Zulaikhah sought to seduce Nabi Yusuf (as):

She said: “O Yusuf! How beautiful is your face!”

He replied: “In the womb, my Lord fashioned me.”

She said: “O Yusuf! How beautiful is your hair!”

He replied: “It is the first thing which will disintegrate in my grave.”

She said: “O Yusuf! How beautiful are your eyes!”

He replied: “With them I look to my Lord.”

She said: “O Yusuf! Raise your gaze and look at my face.”

He replied: “Truly, I fear blindness in my Hereafter.”

She said: “O Yusuf! I draw close to you and you distance yourself from me?!”

He replied: “I desire by that closeness to my Lord.”

She said: “O Yusuf! I have furnished the bedroom for you so enter with me.”

He replied: “The bedroom will not conceal me from my Lord.”

She said: “O Yusuf! A bed of silk have I spread out for you. Stand and fulfill my desire!”

He replied: “In that case, my portion of Jannah would be lost.”

She continued to entice him and he continued to respond to her until he began to desire her.

(Adapted from al-Jami’ li Ahkam al-Qur’an of Imam al-Qurtubi)

Allah! Grant us of the chastity of Yusuf (as) and guide us to follow in his footsteps.
This entry was posted in Quran. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conversation Between Zulaikhah and Yusuf (as)

  1. Mubarak says:

    Thanks very much for dis educative write up.

Leave a Reply

