Alhamdulillah – the Year in Review

track-b

At the end of last year I made a post on this blog that was a little bit different from all the others. It wasn’t something I had translated, or a video I had made, or my reflections on certain things… it was simply a dua. It was different, in that normally I wouldn’t write out something like that, especially not where others could read it; and I don’t think I had ever even made a dua as heartfelt as that before. I don’t know what made me decide to post it on here, and I don’t even know where it came from either. Normally I think about what I want to write beforehand and basically have the post all set out in my mind already, and then just come here to type it all out. But that time I just sat down at the computer with a blank mind, and the words just came. It seemed like it was coming from someplace else, not from within me…

In the end, I’m glad that I made that post though. I feel like at least one of those duas in particular has come true in some small way – and perhaps it was because of someone saying ‘Ameen’ to it that caused that to happen. It’s the line that read (regarding the Qur’an): “Teach me all of its sciences…“At the time of writing it I felt unworthy of even making a dua like that… But Allah guided me to it, and I thank Him for opening up the pathway that made it possible for it to happen by granting me the opportunity of studying with some of the most learned scholars of the Qur’an in our time here in our locality. There’s still a long way to go – and it’s a journey that can never end – but I’m really glad that I’ve been able to make some progress in that direction this year, alhamdulillah.

Another unexpected blessing that came my way this year were the students I had. This was my first year teaching, and alhamdulillah, I was really fortunate to have an amazingly nice group of students. There were some really outstanding individuals among them and I’m glad that I had people like them whom I could call my students. I thank Allah for sending them my way and for allowing me to play some part in their lives that I hope that they’ve benefited from.

Other than those two shining beacons of light, this was actually a really dark and difficult year for me. I started out by mentioning those positive things because oftentimes we tend to simply only see the hardships we endure and the obstacles in our way, and as a result become oblivious to all the blessings that we have been granted. So I thank Allah again for that, and for all of the other countless favours that He has bestowed on me. But this year, there was one objective I had in mind more than anything else, that I was really hoping would come to pass. All the avenues that were pursued in that regard ended up in a dead end though. And it’s now the end of the year, and I’m no closer at all to seeing it become a reality than at the beginning of the year… But what else can we do other than bend our necks in submission to the Decree of Allah? He knows better than us what is good for us and He determines all matters to occur in the time that He knows is best – despite how ardently we might desire to be granted it immediately.

I guess it’s changed me in some way; and I hope that that change is for the better. And I do feel that there is some good that has come out of the whole experience. It’s still my main goal at the moment, but I no longer allow it to consume me like it used to. My heart is now more detached and I’m resigned to the idea that it will happen when it will happen, not when I decide for it to happen. Everything has been set out already, so events are simply going to unfold as they have been destined. All that is left for us to do is to persevere in making dua and to patiently await the time of its answering.

Make dua for me that next year I will be able to continue my studies of the Qur’an; that I get another group of students who are as nice as the ones of this year; and that next year becomes the year when I finally find that which I have been seeking… I’ve been making dua for it to happen and it’s not been answered yet – but perhaps your dua for it on my behalf will be responded to.🙂

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alhamdulillah – the Year in Review

  1. diya says:

    ~ It’s sad that for a Muslim – a year began and ended on the Christian calender …… our children suffer due to this calender as they never know that when the sacred months have come or passed, they know Mothers day , Fathers day but they never know this year is 1435ه. The year for a Muslim has already started and we are in the 2nd month of “Rabi-Ul-Awwal” meaning the first month of spring. Do we take the opportunity to say “this is the month our beloved Prophet (pbuh) was born, this is the month he migrated from Makkah to Madina…..
    ~ Alhamidullilah in my teaching experience, Allah blessed me with 1000’s of outstanding students only 3 made me realize that I don’t know how to teach.

  2. Admin says:

    Assalamu alaikum

    It is sad that we are so influenced by the environment we’re in. But I feel that if we educate ourselves and are aware of our Islamic identity and history at the same time, then it’s not really that big of a problem. (On that note, Rabi’ al-Awwal is the third month of the Hijri calendar, not the second.)

    Ma-sha Allah, may Allah ta’ala increase the number of your students. I hope to one day have had as many students as you have.🙂

Leave a Reply

