And Worthless is What they Used to Do

harvested_cornfield_by_jonny_island-d357lko

– 

Shufayyan al-Asbahī entered Madīnah and found himself near a man around whom the people had gathered. “Who is this?” he asked. “Abū-Hurayrah,” the people replied. Shufayyan said, “So I drew closer to him until I sat in front of him while he was speaking to the people. Then when he fell silent and was alone, I said to him, ‘I implore you truthfully, truthfully, to narrate to me a hadīth that you heard from the Messenger of Allah  which you have retained and learned.’ He responded, ‘I will do so. I will certainly narrate to you a hadīth that the Messenger of Allah  told me which I have retained and learned.’

He then sighed so deeply that he almost fainted. He remained silent for a short while, then regained his senses and said, ‘I will certainly narrate to you a hadīth that the Messenger of Allah  told me in this house, when there was no one else with us except me and him.’

He again then sighed so deeply that he almost fainted. Then he regained his senses, wiped his face and said, ‘I will certainly narrate to you a hadīth that the Messenger of Allah  told me while I and he were in this house and there was no one else with us except me and him.’

He again then sighed so deeply that he almost fainted. Then he regained his senses, wiped his face and said, ‘I will do so. I will certainly narrate to you a hadīth that the Messenger of Allah  told me while I was with him in this house and there was no one else with him except me and him.’

He then sighed so extremely deeply that he almost fainted. He then fell down on his face, and I supported him for a long while. Then he regained his senses and said, ‘The Messenger of Allah  narrated to me that on the Day of Resurrection, Allah, Blessed and Exalted is He, will descend to [His] slaves to judge between them, while every nation is kneeling. Then the first people to be summoned will be: a man who had memorized the Qur’ān, a man who had been killed in the way of Allah, and a man who had had an abundance of wealth. Allah will then ask the reciter [of the Qur’ān], “Did I not teach you that which I revealed to my Messenger?” The man will reply, “Yes, indeed, my Lord.” Allah will then ask, “So what did you do with that which you were taught?” He will reply, “I used to stand in prayer with it throughout the night and day.” Allah will then say to him, “You have lied.” And the angels will say to him, “You have lied.” Allah will then say, “Rather, you desired that it should be said, ‘So-and-so is a reciter,’ and that is what was said.”

The wealthy man will then be brought forward, and Allah will ask him, “Did I not enrich you to such an extent that I left you in need of no one?” The man will reply, “Yes, indeed, my Lord.” Allah will then ask, “So what did you do with that which I gave you?” He will reply, “I used to join family ties and spend in charity.” Allah will then say to him, “You have lied.” And the angels will say to him, “You have lied.” Allah, exalted is He, will then say, “Rather, you desired that it should be said, ‘So-and-so is a generous person,’ and that is what was said.”

The man who was killed in the way of Allah will then be brought forward, and Allah will ask him, “For what cause were you killed?” The man will reply, “I was commanded to strive in Your way, so I fought until I was killed.” Allah, exalted is He, will then say to him, “You have lied.” And the angels will say to him, “You have lied.” Allah will then say, “Rather, you desired that it should be said, ‘So-and-so is a brave person,’ and that is what was said.”

The Messenger of Allah  then tapped me on my knee and said, “O Abū-Hurayrah, those three are the first of Allah’s creatures which the Fire will burn as fuel on the Day of Resurrection.”‘”

al-Walīd, Abū-‘Ūthmān, said, “‘Uqbah-ibn-Muslim informed me that Shufayyan was the one who entered upon Mu’āwiyah and told him this hadīth.” He also said, “al-‘Alā-ibn-Abī-Hakīm narrated to me that he was an executioner for Mu’āwiyah. A man entered upon Mu’āwiyah and related to him this hadīth on the authority of Abū-Hurayrah. Mu’āwiyah then said, ‘This is what was done to these people, so what about the rest of mankind?’ He then wept severely, to such an extent that we thought that he was dying. We said, ‘This man has come to us with something evil.’ Mu’āwiyah then regained his senses, wiped his face and said, ‘Allah and His Messenger have spoken the truth,’ [and then recited], ‘Whoever desires the life of this world and its adornments – We fully repay them for their deeds therein, and they therein will not be deprived. Those are the ones for whom there is not in the Hereafter but the Fire. And lost is what they did therein, and worthless is what they used to do.’ (Sūrah Hūd: 15-16)

(Sunan Tirmidhī)

~*~

My thoughts on this hadīth, from a long time ago. Still as worrying to contemplate on as ever…:/ It’s as Mu’awiyah radiyallahu ‘anhu said – what hope do we have of ever achieving true ikhlās? And if we are not worried about this, then that is a more disturbing sign than anything else.

May Allah ta’ālā grant us sincerity in what we do and accept all our deeds from us, and may we not find them to be rejected on the Day of Qiyāmah, āmīn.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

