The End of the Road?

Cement pier extending to horizon at sunset

The Year of the Visitors“. That’s what I would call this year if we still named years according to events liked they did in the past. It’s been a tough year, but there was a lot of good in it as well, alhamdulillah. And the one thing that stood out the most was the amount of illustrious scholars that visited our shores during this year. The one that I benefited the most from and for which I’m most grateful is the coming of Shaykh ‘Abdullah ibn Salih al-‘Ubayd. Alhamdulillah, I had the fortune of being amongst a few who recited a khatm to him and received ijazah in it from him, as well as in a number of other texts. Another leading, world-renowned scholar who graced us with his presence was Shaykh Ahmad ‘Isa al-Ma’sarawi, the previous Shaykh al-Maqari’ of Egypt. He was only here for a short while but we also benefited greatly from him alhamdulillah. The other visitors were Shaykhah Kareema Czerepinsky, Shaykh Ayman Safwat and Ustadh Nouman Ali Khan.

Another milestone achieved in this year was that I had my first students to receive ijazah from me, alhamdulillah. One received ijazah in the “Tuhfah” of Jamzuri and the other in the Qur’an. I also started reciting to a different teacher for my khatm in the Sab’ah Qira’at, by virtue of which I was able to make much more progress than I had done last year, alhamdulillah.

Things change all the time. That’s the only constant in life, and we’re all always passing through different stages. I used to be an active member of Ummah forum, and now I no longer am. I used to translate ahadith for Adage, and now I no longer do. I used to blog regularly… and now it seems like that too is no longer the case. It’s not simply the case that these things have fallen away… it’s more of the case of them being replaced with other activities. Hopefully those past activities were good for me and for others, but hopefully the new things that have taken their place are even better.

Perhaps one day I’ll get back to blogging regularly again. Or perhaps I’ll only do so intermittently, whenever I feel like it. Perhaps I’ll only do so to share the major writings and translations I’ve completed. Or perhaps this might be the last time… and this is the end of the road.

If it is, then I hope that you have benefited and learnt something from everything that has been shared on here. And I hope and make dua that Allah ta’ala accepts this as a sadaqah jariyah for me and that I continue to see the reward of it even after my death. As the Prophet sallallahu ‘alaihi wa sallam said, “When a man dies, all his deeds come to an end except for three: a sadaqah jariyah (an ongoing charity); knowledge he imparted which is benefited from; or a pious child who makes dua for him.” (Sahih Muslim)

Fi amanillah, and requesting your duas.

This entry was posted in Wallpapers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of the Road?

  1. Zoobz says:

    Taqabballahu minkum ! Great to come across your blog.

Leave a Reply

